Information and Communication Technology Education

The Department of Information and Communication Technology (ICT)  was established in 2008 as an academic department in the University of Education, Winneba. The Department is now separated with the following divisions: Academic and Technical units respectively. It has a staff strength of ten (10) faculty members, one (1) system analyst, two (2) instructional facilitators, and five (5) technical support staff.

Until September 2008 it operated as a unit that was responsible for planning, implementing and evaluating ICT programmes and projects of the University. As a service unit then, it provided ICT services: installation of equipment and software, troubleshooting ICT resources, managing the University Wide Area and Local Area Networks, teaching of the Core ICT courses for undergraduates (GPD 113: Introduction to ICT) and graduates (EDI 702: Computer Applications in Education), and assisting the University Management in ICT-related procurement, contract and recruitment decisions.

As it has now assumed an academic department status, however, its added responsibilities include the setting up of a BSc (ICT Education) Programme, provision of technology professional development workshops and training, and just-in-time technical support for academics and administrative support staff.