2021/2022 Academic Year Sandwich Students Undergo Orientation

The Office of the Dean of Student Affairs (ODSA), University of Education, Winneba (UEW), has held an Intensive Pre-Academic Orientation Programme (IPOP), for sandwich students of the 2021/2022 academic year. The programme was at the Jophus Anamuah-Mensah Conference Centre, North Campus.   

The programme delved into significant topics to enhance the work of the students on and off the campus of UEW. The topics touched on time management, what one needs to know about UEW, persons with disability, library and e-resources, health services, the role of SRC/GRASAG in UEW, counselling services, financial aid and support, the grading system at UEW (classification, transfer of credit and graduation requirements, and security and safety.    

Representing the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Mawutor Avoke, the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Andy Ofori-Birikorang, urged the freshmen and women to pay special attention to the various presentations.  


Prof. Andy Ofori-Birikorang, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of UEW


“The programme outline covers every aspect of our university life and what every student needs to know. So, the information you’ll gather at this forum will surely be a game changer for you because for the rest of your stay here that is what will help you to navigate your way in the system,” he advised.  

Prof. Ofori-Birikorang implored them to be conscious of their health and take good care of themselves. “It is important that we all ensure that we live in a healthy environment, especially, when every day we have to be up and doing for about eight to ten hours of work. So, I encourage you to take good care of your health. We have a health centre here and anytime you need help, you can always visit the clinic for attention.” 

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor urged them to explore the homely environment and make the most of what UEW offers its students in anticipation that the university will celebrate their successful completion in a few years. “I am confident that we will enjoy each other’s company, and you’ll be glad you chose to come here.”  


Dr. (Mrs.) Edinam Kakra Avoke


The Dean of ODSA, Dr. (Mrs.) Edinam Kakra Avoke, underscored the importance of orientation to the students.  

“The importance of this orientation is to enlighten you about so many things. First and foremost, it is to help you know your way around UEW. it is to help you know where to go and where to be at any point in time; what is expected of you; how to access things at the university and all that,” she stated.

Dr. Edinam Avoke advised them to follow and take the university’s communication channel seriously. “Please don’t rush into taking your own action. It may lead to something unexpected and cost you a lot. So, this office is created to handle issues related to students. I want to stress that we are here for you.” 


Freshmen and women asking questions for further clarification


The Dean of ODSA entreated the freshmen and women to try to obtain their copies of the student handbook and read same comprehensively to guide them through the academic enterprise at UEW.

“It has been stated in detail how to channel your grievances, and it is important to follow that as a student. You came here for a purpose; which is to study. You must take your studies seriously. Whatever preparations you have to make to have your peace of mind while you are here studying, it is necessary to do that,” she admonished.

The Vice-Dean, Faculty of Educational Studies, Mrs. Christiana Ammah; Vice-Dean, ODSA, Dr. Latipher Osei; Ag. Director, Health Services, Dr. John Yambah; Ag. University Librarian, Ms. Agatha Larson; Coordinator, Resource Centre for Special Needs Individuals, Dr. Awini Adam; Ag. Director, Counselling Centre, Dr. Theresa Antwi; Head, Division of Treasury and Funds, Mr. Albert Osei-Mensah; Head, Student Records, Mr. Raymond Boison; Head, Security Services, Mr. Opare Danso; and President, GRASAG-UEW, Mr. Akudugu Issaka were the facilitators for the IPOP. 


Line one from L-R: Mrs. Christiana Ammah, Dr. John Yambah, Dr. Awini Adam, Ms. Agatha Gifty Larson and Dr. Latipher Osei Appiah-Agyei; Line two from L-R: Mr. Kwame Opare Danso, Mr. Albert Osei-Mensah, Mr. Raymond Bentum Boison, Mr. Akudugu Issaka and Dr. Theresa Antwi