UEW Cooperative Credit Union Elects New Board of Directors

The University of Education, Winneba (UEW) Cooperative Credit Union Limited has held elections to select new Board of Directors to manage the affairs of the Union for the next four years.  

The elections, held on Wednesday, 21st August, 2019, took place at the three campuses (Winneba, Ajumako and Asante Mampong) of the University and Senya Beraku Agency Office of the Union. The Winneba Campus, which had North and South Campuses Polling Stations, together with Ajumako Campus and Senya Beraku saw UEW staff from the various campuses as well as community members of the Union voting.  

At the North Campus Polling Station   

Six candidates contested at Winneba, Ajumako and Senya Beraku and out of the six, the first five elected were Mr. Albert Samuel Cromwell, Mr. Charles A. Coffie, Dr. Bernard B.B. Bingab, Ms. Mary Aba Afful and Mr. Prince P. K. M. Taylor. They polled 355, 332, 299, 297 and 279 votes representing 19.29%, 18.04%, 16.25%, 16.14% and 15.16% respectively. Mr. Francis Teye who placed sixth with 278 votes representing 15.12% conceded defeat after the declaration of the results.    

Mr. Benjamin Nketiah amassed 164 votes representing 83.7% to win the Asante Mampong seat. He defeated his only competitor, Rev. Kwame Nkrumah Hope who had 32 votes representing 16.3%. There was no election at the Kumasi Campus because the nominee, Mr. Michael K. Twum Ampomah went unopposed. 

Electoral officers looking on as counting of votes was underway at the close of the polls

The Chairman of the current Board of Directors, Mr. Steve v. Kamassah, congratulated all the candidates for the keen contest as well as the organisers for a successful election. He hinted that the new members of the Board would be inaugurated at the 19th Annual General Meeting of the Union expected to take place in October, 2019.    

The election was organised by the Department of Publishing and Web Development under the Division of Publications and Communication, UEW. The Deputy Registrar and Head, Mr. Jerry Addison Anyan, was the Returning Officer.

Returning Officer, Mr. Jerry Addison Anyan (in white) announcing the outcome of the elections

The final results after compilation of results from all the polling stations